Ghana goes to the Polls

Hi everyone. As some of you may know, today Ghana goes to the polls. I did my part and have my badge of honour to show for it. Maybe I should say my finger of honour, as we have to dip our hand in some ink to prove we voted and to serve as a disincentive for those who would otherwise want to cast multiple votes. Why anyone would want to go through the trouble of queuing for hours at multiple venues is beyond me, but apparently some people do/did.

Apparently, international observers decided that Ghana’s democracy is now mature enough not to need independent observation. I don’t know about that, but I can say that it was a peaceful affair at the polling station I went to. The queue was very long, though, and it was clear that voting would not be complete by 5 p.m.

Right now, we’re all keeping out eyes glued to our TVs for the counting of the votes, so I will talk more about elections over the coming week.

Cheers!

Leave a comment